Governance of FLR is performed by The Board of Directors.  Members of the board are appointed by their respective equity partner institutions which are accredited investors and owners of FLR, LLC. Equity Partners are 501(c) (3) tax-exempt entities or public corporations that are either private, non-profit educational institutions or Florida public universities with an interest in collaborating and participating in FLR and Internet2. FLR has 13 Equity Partners (10 public universities and 3 private universities):


Florida Agricultural & Mechanical University Florida Atlantic University
Florida Gulf Coast University Florida Institute of Technology
Florida International University Florida State University
Nova Southeastern University University of Central Florida
University of Florida University of Miami
University of North Florida University of South Florida
University of West Florida


Board of Directors

Mr. Robert Grillo, Chair
Vice President and CIO • Florida International University

Mr. Jason Ball, Vice Chair
Associate VP and CIO • Florida Atlantic University

Dr. Marco Carvalho, Secretary
Executive VP & Provost, Comp. Engr. & Sciences, Research • Florida Institute of Technology

Ms. Mary Banks, Treasurer
Associate VP & CIO,  Computing Services • Florida Gulf Coast University

Mr. Brian Verkamp
Vice President and CIO • University of North Florida

Mr. Elias G. Eldayrie
Vice President and CIO • University of Florida

Mr. Sidney Fernandes
System Vice President/CIO, USF Health IS • University of South Florida

Mr. Brad Roher
Vice President and CIO • University of Miami

Mr. Jonathan Fozard
CIO & Associate Provost • Florida State University

(Currently Vacant)
University of Central Florida

Mr. Robert Seniors
CIO & Associate VP for Technology • Florida Agricultural & Mechanical University

Mrs. Sandra Thompson
Director of Networking and Telecommunications • University of West Florida

Mr. Tom West
Vice President and CIO • Nova Southeastern University

Mr. Jon Ellis
Chief Executive Officer • Florida LambdaRail

Mr. Eugene Kovacs, (at large, non-voting)
Assistant Vice Chancellor and CIO • State University System of Florida Board of Governors

Mr. Dayaghan T. Pendharkar, (at large, non-voting)
Vice President, Office of Information Technology • Hillsborough Community College

Mr. Robert Sears, (advisory member, non-voting)
Director of NOAA N-Wave • National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration